Those BIG Moments & Letting Go


You know those BIG moments in life that wear on you and make you cringe?  Feel like you’ve made the wrong decision? Worry you and make you question your ability to be the “perfect” parent who always knows best?

Last night I had one of those.

5:30 a.m.

My child would not sleep.  For some 19-week-old kiddos, that might just be the norm.  Not for my doodlebug.  Theä is a really good sleeper most of the time and we haven’t experience many nights of complete chaos since she was 6 weeks old.

With that said, Theä was not behaving normally last night and kept rolling over to her tummy.  Mind you, Theä has always slept on her back, but has (in recent weeks) been sleeping on her side for most of the night.  Every time I rolled her back over to her back, she’d lose her marbles and immediately try to turn back over.

She turned over again, for the 4th or 5th time, and I didn’t flip her back over.

I felt like my “Mamma Bear” instincts were saying “leave her on her tummy, she obviously wants to explore this new way of sleeping” but all of my “Type A” tendencies tell me that she can ONLY be allowed to sleep on her back.  After all, we’re all taught that “Back is Best” at all of the parenting classes.  The moto is drilled into us and is even embroideried on the Halo Sleep Sacks.

The instincts won the battle and I let her sleep on her tummy.  She looked so comfortable and peaceful.

I did go in and check on her a couple of times…I feel like we’ve all heard the SIDS horror stories, and I certainly don’t want our family to become a statistic.

Tummy sleeping tots are such a touchy subject in the parenting community and I’m here to say that I’m not ashamed of how I’ve chosen to proceed with Theä’s new-found urge to turn on over.

I believe God will watch over her and protect her.  She’s strong and healthy and that’s all I can ask for.

I believe the overall message of this for any parent who may stumble upon this blurb or self-assurance is that every child is different, trust your instincts, and be cautious when entering new territory.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

